Local News
Early voting for primary elections underway
By staff reports
Feb 21, 2024
Print this page
Email this article

Fannin County, Texas -- Early voting for the March 5 primary elections began Tuesday, February 20, and runs through March 1. Major changes are on the horizon for Fannin County.

The justice system in Fannin County is set to have several changes in the 2024 elections, as 336th District Judge Lauri Blake, Criminal District Attorney Richard Glaser and Fannin County Sheriff Mark Johnson are not running for re-election. Current Pct. 3 Commissioner Jerry Magness is also not running for re-election.

Christina Tillett and Kyle Shaw are running for 336th District Judge.

Voters will choose between Jessica Arnold and John Skotnik to be the next Fannin County Criminal District Attorney.

The race for Fannin County Sheriff has three candidates: Leigh Dixon, William Robertson and Cody Shook.

Three candidates are also vying to serve as commissioner of precinct 1. Dale McQueen, the incumbent, is being challenged by Troy Waggoner and Mitchell Smith.

The race for commissioner of precinct 3 has four candidates: Gary Michael Tucker, Johnny Parish, Kurt Fogelberg II and Chris Wilson.

Two candidates are running for constable of precinct 1, Robert Williams and David Thompson.

The race for constable of precinct 2 will pit JR Stricklin against Jimmy Helms.

Kevin Mayberry is running unopposed for constable of precinct 3.

Amber Vest Sutherland is running unopposed for tax assessor/collector.

In the race for District 62 State Representative, incumbent Reggie Smith is being challenged by Shelly Luther in the Republican primary.